OUR MISSION: “TO DO THE RIGHT THING RIGHT”

 

 

EMD: Entrepreneurship, Management and Developing

Humility, courage, sense of justice, self-control: let’s share our values!

 

 

 

EMD Ecole de Management is a non-profit organisation under the French Act of 1901, managed by business leaders. Their mutual objective is to place ethical values at the heart of the school’s programmes. Respect for others and a concern for the common good are important qualities in any effective manager, ensuring that leaders make ethically driven decisions guided by a sense of service and a determination to lead by example.

 

Here at EMD, we work day in day out to develop a generous, open and friendly climate, offering the right conditions for considered reflection and top-quality teaching. At EMD, students develop their thinking skills and learn to make decisions in line with the principles of Business Ethics.  

 

What does “Ethics” mean here at EMD?

“The term 'ethics' means “doing the right thing right”. It is primarily a practical, human-centred discipline that focuses on developing two key components: conscience (recognising what is “right”) and virtue (learning to “do things right”). 

For EMD leaders, ethics is about improving the judgement and action of people in all workplace situations – sharpening their observation skills, having the courage to reject conformism, and becoming insightful, level-headed and positive in all situations, even the most unpleasant ones” Michael Shanks, Masters of Arts and Professor of Ethics.

 

A service culture at all levels of study

Students at EMD take part in voluntary service projects throughout their studies.

By engaging in various practical activities, they learn that decision-making starts with listening to others and welcoming differences.

  • A sense of mutual support is something that permeates the entire ecosystem.Students develop a team spirit and willingly conduct projects to support charities and organisations, or carry out voluntary work for businesses.
  •  
  • L'ADE is a student-led association. Its purpose is to develop creativity among students, and to teach them how to design and manage a project in a field such as Culture or Sport.
  •  
  • Year 3 students act as mentors to year 2 students, helping them to prepare for their year studying abroad (help finding accommodation, methodological tips to help them complete their studies successfully, etc.). The students pass on their tips about living and studying abroad, and help year 2 students to prepare for their adventure well in advance of their departure.
  •  
  • Each year, students carry out and complete a range of Mutual Support and Solidarity projects, driven by a strong desire to support charities and organisations. Recent examples have included the development of a web marketing strategy to help La Chaîne de l'Espoir with its fund-raising efforts, the organisation of an afternoon rowing session for disabled participants (in conjunction with Avi Sourire), and the provision of educational support (for Massabielle).  

By giving their time to help the least fortunate members of our society, students gain an enriching and resolutely human experience. They also learn that good managers are people who give of themselves freely.


 “I gave French lessons to a secondary school pupil one evening a week. I was really impressed by his determination to learn and better himself. Ultimately, I learned more from our discussions than he did!” (Riwadi) 

 

Mentoring: personalised support

Students receive personal mentoring from a teacher or voluntary mentor throughout their time at EMD. These regular meetings help to promote discussion and provide an opportunity for the mentor to give advice about the student’s academic progress, career plan development or study techniques.

“Mentoring is a unique experience that has really helped me to pin down my career plans and has boosted my self-confidence. It’s been a constant source of support throughout my studies”  (Romain)

NOTRE MISSION : "BIEN FAIRE CE QUI EST BIEN "

 

 

EMD comme Entreprendre, Manager, Développer

Humilité, courage, sens de la justice, maîtrise de soi : partageons nos valeurs !

 

 

 

Association loi 1901 à but non lucratif, l'EMD Ecole de Management est administrée par des chefs d'entreprise. Tous ont pour objectif de placer les valeurs éthiques au cœur des études : le respect de la personne et le souci du bien commun sont des atouts en entreprise où le bon manager est celui qui décide en conscience, guidé par le sens du service et de l'exemplarité.

 

À l’EMD, nous veillons chaque jour à entretenir un climat de magnanimité, d’échange et de convivialité, propice à la réflexion et à un enseignement de qualité. L’EMD vous invite à développer une capacité de raisonnement et de prise de décisions fondées sur la pratique de l'Ethique des Affaires.

 

Qu'est-ce que l'Ethique ?

« L’éthique c’est « bien faire ce qui est bien ». C’est une discipline essentiellement pratique, centrée sur la personne et orientée vers le développement de deux réalités fondamentales : la conscience (reconnaître « ce qui est bien ») et la vertu (apprendre à « bien faire »).

Pour les dirigeants de l’EMD, l’éthique cherche à perfectionner le jugement et l’action des personnes dans le contexte du travail professionnel quel qu’il soit : aiguiser le sens de l’observation, savoir dépasser les conformismes, rendre clairvoyant, serein et positif par rapport aux situations – même les plus désagréables» Michael Shanks, Masters of Arts et professeur d’éthique.

 

A tous les niveaux d’études, vivre l'exigence du service

Tout au long de leur cursus à l'EMD, les étudiants font l'expérience du service gratuit.

Les étudiants apprennent par diverses actions concrètes que la prise de décision commence dans l'écoute de l'autre et l'accueil de sa différence.

  • L’esprit d’entraide est omniprésent à l’EMD, les étudiants ont l’esprit d’équipe et mènent ensemble volontairement des projets d’aide à des associations, ou d’aide à des entreprises sous forme de travail bénévole.
     
  • L'association ADE est animée par des étudiants et a pour but de développer leur créativité, de leur apprendre à concevoir et à gérer un projet dans des domaines tels que la Culture ou le Sport.
     
  • Les étudiants en 3ème année coachent les deuxième année pour faciliter leur année d’étude à l'étranger (aide à la recherche de logement, conseils méthodologiques pour réussir leurs études…). Les étudiants transmettent leurs bons plans à l'étranger et aident les 2ème année à bien anticiper leur départ.
     
  • Les projets Entraide et Solidarité s’animent autour d’une volonté forte : celle de soutenir des associations qui en ont besoin grâce à des projets différents menés à leur terme chaque année. Par exemple, la création d’une stratégie de Web marketing pour récolter des fonds pour la Chaine de l’Espoir, l’animation d’un après-midi aviron et handicap (Association AVI SOURIRE) ou bien la participation à du soutien scolaire (Association Massabielle )...
     

En se mettant au service des plus démunis, les étudiants vivent une expérience humaine forte, doublée de la découverte que le bon manager sait donner de sa personne.


 « J’ai donné des cours de français à un collégien un soir par semaine. Sa soif d’apprendre et de s’en sortir m’ont édifiée. Finalement, c’est moi qui ai le plus appris de nos échanges ! » (Riwadi) 

 

Le tutorat : un accompagnement sur-mesure

Tout au long de son cursus à l'EMD, l’étudiant bénéficie d’un tutorat personnalisé en lien avec un professeur ou un intervenant référent bénévole. Les rencontres régulières favorisent les échanges et permettent d'apporter des conseils dans la progression pédagogique, le développement du projet professionnel ou encore la méthodologie d'étude employée.

« Le tutorat, une expérience unique qui m’a apporté repères professionnels et confiance en moi. C’est un fil rouge qui guide mes études. » (Romain)